18. On Being Alone With My Son

Kyle Lasalita
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readOct 28, 2017

If you’re like me who doesn’t have a home office, working at home will feel like a balancing act. Especially when you have a kid around.

I was forced to work from home today because my wife had to go to a job interview and we couldn’t get anyone to babysit. I thought to myself

How hard could this be?

It was haaarddd.

This was the first time in a long time that I’m going to be alone with my son. I got up early so I can immediately start working. Only after a couple of minutes working, my son was already up. And guess what? He’s crying, really loud. I figured she was looking for his mom. So, I get the iPad and voila! he stops crying.

I continued working but, he needed milk so I had to get it for him. I felt guilty having him watch his shows alone so I watched with him. Next thing you know, I’ve been watching a kid’s show for an hour and a half.

We were both still in bed and it’s almost lunchtime.

My left with us still in bed and when she arrived…we were both still in bed.

My boss will probably kill me when he reads this. Nah, it doesn’t matter. He’s practically my son’s godfather.

Let’s start our friendship by following me! ✌️✌

Follow my musings as a dad here

--

--

Kyle Lasalita
100 Naked Words

Awesome Dad | Customer Service Professional | Freelance Writer | Human ✌️