227. Cold UK weather

Hiong
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readFeb 8, 2017

Any time I visit the UK during the colder months I always get a shock. I genuinely don’t know how I survived growing up there for 22 years.

Once it gets dark I don’t want to leave the house because of the cold.

It’s strange because I’ve been on ski holidays and I quite enjoy the type of coldness you get in ski resorts. I think it’s a different type of coldness, more refreshing.

The coldness in the UK is a very different beast. It’s the kind of chilling, wet cold that seeps into your bones. It lingers in your body even after you have entered somewhere warm.

I dread going back in the winter because of the cold, yet I conveniently seem to forget that I lived through 22 winters there. In primary school we had to wear shorts everyday, even when it snowed, so I must have had some toughness to the cold. I guess that it’s been severely weakened in my 10 years away.

--

--