In The Cold Light I Live

One to Zero
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJun 15, 2016

A few days ago, I had thought I’d put out my favorite songs everyday in this 100 Naked Words streak and how much fun that will be.

Then life took a turn for the worse and I was left with songs of my own, “melancholic and abrupt” ones.

However, now that I’ve made a conscious effort to leave all that behind, I think I’ll restart this endeavor. Mumford & Sons’ Baaba Maal is one such special song.

At times, I tend to over-analyze songs for the deeper meanings they hold within them, like an explorer goes on an expedition. This song lifts itself above such pointless exercises and just floors you every time you give it a listen. Then, it lifts you and fills you with deep, heartfelt gratitude.

There are so many people who contribute to who you become. And if you think you’ve become a decently good person, do thank the people who contributed. You may not be close to them now but you once were and that’s all that counts.

You may be living in the cold light but you must know that their love shines bright on you and it’ll carry you home whenever you’re lost.

Thank you, Mumford & Sons, for this song, this prayer, this Word.

--

--

One to Zero
100 Naked Words

Don’t cry, don’t raise your eye || It’s only Teenage Wasteland