27. Benchmarks

Sean Devlin
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 3, 2016

Today at dinner while my girlfriend was in the bathroom, I spent the downtime as most do, perusing facebook, where I discovered that a coworker of mine is going to be a dad.

That’s super rad.

While I think it’s a super cool thing to become, and a crazy journey to set upon, I don’t have any desire to do it.

I mean, I’ve always thought that at some point I’d want the house, the yard, the white fence, the babies, the steady income…

…but the older I get, the less I want any of those things.

I see friends buying homes and getting married and having babies and I just don’t find myself wishing I was in their place.

I like traveling to the Bahamas on a whim. I like flying wingsuits and jumping off cliffs. I love having friends in Croatia whose house we can go to and have a BBQ and drink until we can’t walk. I really enjoy the adventures.

Maybe that’s okay.

Maybe it’s alright that I don’t look at life as a countdown timer juxtaposed against a list of classical ‘to do’s.

Maybe my path doesn’t need to be the same as everyone else’s. I guess that’s what makes it mine. Right?

--

--