31. Comfort Zones

Sean Devlin
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 9, 2016

Tonight I met a guy that I barely know, in a rural part of town, climbed a really tall ladder, and jumped a few hundred feet into the night sky.

Standing several hundred feet above the city that I absolutely adore, on a beautifully clear, utterly tranquil night, looking in every direction and just taking in the sights was…

…Incredible. Life alteringly beautiful.

These are the moments that only exist outside comfort zones. I wouldn’t have experienced this moment had I not decided to take every single thread of fear that was screaming for me to stay home, stay in the car, stay on the ground, not jump.

The issue is that of succumbing to arbitrary fear. The conditions were beautiful and the location was well within my ability.

The fear was entirely mental. Emotional. Irrelevant.

The secret is to teach yourself to tuck that fear away, take a deep breath, and go.

…and with a resounding THWACK when that canopy inflates, go land that damn thing and grab a beer to celebrate.

--

--