34. 🎶Tradition, tradition🎵

Mike Seilback
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readSep 16, 2016

Today, my son began his first day of religious school. My wife and I have always found important to give our children exposure to our religion (and we have definitely done so, especially culturally), but for a multitude of reasons we have struggled to find a religious home for our family.

As I picked up my son tonight, I felt an unexpected emotion.

I felt pride.

While I have had a good share of ebbs and flows in my own personal religious-ness, I genuinely felt good for my son to begin his own journey. Seeing him come out of religious school with a smile on his face with other children from our community gave me sense of pride. And anytime I have a life- experience without a healthy side of cynicism, that’s a good thing in my book. Will be interesting to see where our parallel journeys take us.

--

--

Mike Seilback
100 Naked Words

Proud hubby & dad; Mets NY Jets Knicks Islanders fan; lung health advocate; news, sports, politics & communications junkie