426. Air conditioning or fan?

Hiong
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readAug 29, 2017

Anybody who as ever spent a short amount of time somewhere where the weather is consistently above 31℃ (87.8F) will affirm the fact that either a air conditioning or a fan is a god send.

Living in Kuala Lumpur the temperature rarely drops below 31℃ (87.8F) during the day time. Fortunately it doesn’t reach the crazy temperatures of other places, it’s pretty consistent at around 31–34℃ (87.8–93.2F).

To cool down my wife and I predominantly use the various fans we have around the house. We very rarely use the air conditioning, and if we do it’s only for a short burst to bring the temperature down.

We just find that it’s nicer to live in a house that has airflow as opposed to cold air.

Other people prefer to blast their air conditioning at home non-stop and they can’t believe that we don’t do the same. This is before they climb underneath their duvet to keep cosy in their bedroom at night.

I’m not totally opposed to air conditioning. In an office or mall is more than welcome, and I understand why some people use it at home. We’re just fortunate enough to have a fairly breezy condo which really reduces the need for it.

The fact that for my first 8 years in KL the room that I rented didn’t have air conditioning may also have resulted in my bias.

--

--