428. I’m a reluctant morning person

Hiong
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2017

Over the last 6 weeks or so I have realised that although I hate waking up, I’m actually a morning person, much as it pains me to admit.

I’ve been getting up at around 5.40am most mornings to give the twins their 6am feed. By the time I had fed, burped and put them back to bed as well as wash the bottles it was usually around 6.45am.

As this became a routine I also developed a routine for myself.

I’d make myself some breakfast and a decaf coffee to enjoy before cracking on with some work.

I found that I could get more done in those 2–3 hours than I can over double the amount of time later in the day. It’s not the first time that I’ve noticed this. During my year in Tanzania I used to get to the office about 15 minutes earlier than most of my colleagues, and I was often able to get a lot done in that short time.

It’s not just because there is nobody around to disturb me early in the morning (although that helps), I actually feel more alert (once I fully wake up) and more creative.

I find it easier to focus on tasks and have less desire to be distracted by things such as social media.

Unfortunately as I’m currently working on a project that requires me to overlap time zones with Europe and the West Coast of the USA my morning routine has come to a bit of a halt. I normally only get to bed between 2–3am so after feeding the twins at 6am I tend to go back to bed for a few hours. I can never go straight back to sleep, sometimes I’m still awake at 8–9am but I haven’t been utilising this time to be productive as I’m pretty tired still. Maybe I should try and be productive in that short time, after all it will be worth double the amount of time in the afternoon.

--

--