[71 of 100] It’s Time to Grow Up

Ronan Takagi
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readMay 2, 2017

[Note: I started keeping a diary when my wife and I began trying to have a baby. I’d like to share some of it here.]

February 3, 2017

We’ve nicknamed the baby “parasite” for the time being since we don’t know the sex and saying “parasite” beats calling the baby “it.” Anyway, parasite is a demanding little creature, requiring all of the attention all of the time. I thought this might be a temporary condition, but then I realized parasite/baby/child will always be my wife’s number one priority. No longer will she dawdle on me and put up with my whining.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it’ll take some getting used to. It also means I need to grow up and rely on myself for emotional support. I can’t have my wife babying me anymore. So this is what they mean when they say fatherhood turns you into a man. You have to be self-reliant emotionally so you have the mental capacity to give comfort and strength to your child.

Because there’s no way my wife is putting up with two babies in the house.

--

--