#73/13: The Rhythm is Gonna Get You

Unbought and Unbossed
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2016

There’s a lot going on at the moment it seems, despite the fact that my day to day life *feels* slow.

I rarely had moments like this before, so I’m trying to understand my flow and really feel what it’s like to move at my own pace. I think it’s important to know what your natural rhythm is and design your workday based on your pace to be most productive.

So for example, I’m a morning person. I wake up between 6:30 and 7AM and I’m at my best between 7:30 and 11AM after a light breakfast. I need to sleep about 6–7 hours a night, and I need a shower or I don’t feel like I woke up.

After about 2pm, maintaining focus is harder, so its easier for me to have meetings or engage people and generate ideas in the afternoon. Once I’m recharged, I can focus uninterrupted until the evening. I’m not very creative or productive after dinner, unless its reading or looking at things for inspiration.

If I need to focus, putting on headphones and sitting in a well lit room are the best ways to get work done. I’m dependent on my environment for support when I need focus, so its important for me to have a space where I feel comfortable and calm.

Knowing all these things is great because I can take advantage of what I know. I think most of my problems before were related to doing a job where I wasn’t able to use my strengths at all, and I was forced to focus only on doing things to erase my weaknesses. No longer! For that, I am thankful:)

--

--