9. Avoiding Self-Sabotage

Baldomero Montes de Oca
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 25, 2016

It seemed as if I was progressing in my life for the past four years. Going to college, working a full-time job, meeting new people, being introduced to new opportunities, and excited to accomplish many goals. This past year I felt as if I had reached a plateau. I tried to understand why I felt this way. I was constantly learning and putting myself out there, yet I still did not feel gratified.

Don’t compare your present self to your future self.

I was sabotaging my success by comparing myself to the ideal image of who I wanted to become. I was comparing myself to the future me. Not only was this creating stress in me, but it was also causing me to be unhappy with my present self. The best way that I got rid of this was by comparing myself to the person that I was two years ago. Thinking about the person that I was two years ago allowed me to put in perspective how much I’ve improved as a person.

Having high standards is absolutely a must, but it becomes stressful when we’re aiming for perfection when no one can achieve that level of superiority.

--

--

Baldomero Montes de Oca
100 Naked Words

I write at www.millennialpursuits.com. I write about topics on psychology, business, and masculinity.