A Stone Compass

Angelina Bruno
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readAug 11, 2016

I was feeling overwhelmed and directionless when I saw that I was literally standing on top of a giant stone compass.

I had been reading in the park, trying to finish my book before the due date even though I can easily renew it, when I stood up to leave and looked down. A large S among the flagstones. I surveyed the ground and saw the whole compass. Suddenly things were put into perspective when I saw true North laid out in front of me.

My old subway ride home always led northward, so I oriented myself when I got in or out based on the direction of the subway thundering away beneath my feet. My subway ride home now leads east. At once, I feel lighter and more grounded knowing the direction I am headed in.

--

--