And my friends?

Rolo C Vargas
100 Naked Words
Published in
4 min readFeb 19, 2020
Photo by Austin Mabe

It is said that friends are proved in difficult situations, because when you are well, they are all your friends.

It hurts to check it the hard way.

When I lost my job I fell into a deep depression, which generated profound changes in my mood and my character. I became sour and gloomy, which drove many people away. Losses only sank deeper the dagger of depression in my soul.

The day my girlfriend left me was not very moved, it was just another blow that I accommodated in the deep sack in which I was keeping my disappointments, to take them out every time I wanted to lament the miserable life that I had to live.

One day my landlord knocked on my door. He was coming with two policemen to execute the eviction order that a judge ordered against me. I remember that I only left my apartment, I sat on the sidewalk in front of my place and witnessed, as if it were a film of black humor, as my few belongings took to the street. That day I don’t know how I got to my brother’s house, I just know that I woke up there, with nothing, just the clothes I had on.

After that crisis, my family took me to the Psychiatric Hospital, where I was admitted for two weeks. I was heavily medicated, I don’t remember most of what happened, but I know that at the beginning of the second week I was on therapy with two different doctors, three times a day, plus two support groups. Also that week I received a visit from my brothers and an aunt.

When I was discharged, a sister who lives on the coast came for me and took me to her house. A friend of hers offered me a job as a clerk in a hardware store and she helped me get a small apartment and equip it with the basics so that, when I felt ready, I could go back to my life from there.

Today I am recovered, I am still working with my depression, work that will surely take me the rest of my life, but I no longer carry bags of penalties. I am again optimistic about my future and above all, I wanted to learn the lesson.

In all this process, not one of those who said my friends, visited me, called me or asked for me. To all those who I had so often helped in their own problems, the earth swallowed them. Not even my closest friends. It is as if I had died for them.

Now I try to form more meaningful relationships, without seeking to ‘buy’ friends with favors or things. I don’t have many friends, but the ones I have are dear and love me. I also understood that when all else fails, your family does not abandon you. They are closer to me and I to them. Priorities are diverted, but it is necessary to relocate, revise and resignify them.

Yes, you can be happy.

¿Y mis amigos?

Se dice que a los amigos se les conoce en las situaciones difíciles, porque cuando estás bien, todos son tus amigos.

Duele comprobarlo por la vía difícil.

Cuando perdí el trabajo caí en una depresión profunda, que generó cambios profundos en mi ánimo y mi carácter. Me volví agrio y sombrío, lo cual alejó a muchas personas. Las pérdidas solo hundían más profundo el puñal de la depresión en mi alma.

El día que me dejó mi novia no me conmovió demasiado, fue solo otro golpe que acomodé en el profundo saco en el que estaba guardando mis decepciones, para sacarlas cada vez que quería lamentarme de la miserable vida que me tocó vivir.

Un día mi casero tocó a mi puerta. Venía con dos policías a ejecutar la orden de desahucio que un juez ordenó en mi contra. Recuerdo que solo salí de mi apartamento, me senté en la acera de enfrente y presencié, como si fuera una película de humor negro, como sacaban mis pocas pertenencias a la calle. Ese día no se cómo llegué a casa de mi hermano, solo se que ahí me desperté, sin nada, con solo la ropa que tenía puesta.

Tras esa crisis, mi familia me llevó al Hospital Psiquiátrico, donde me internaron dos semanas. Me medicaron fuertemente, no recuerdo la mayor parte de lo que sucedió, pero se que al inicio de la segunda semana estaba en terapia con dos doctores diferentes, tres veces al día, más dos grupos de soporte. También esa semana recibí la visita de mis hermanos y una tía.

Cuando me dieron de alta, una hermana que vive en la costa vino por mí y me llevó a su casa. Un amigo suyo me ofreció un trabajo como dependiente de una ferretería y ella me ayudó a conseguir un apartamento pequeño y a equiparlo con lo básico para que, cuando me sintiera listo, pudiera ir a retomar mi vida desde ahí.

Hoy estoy recuperado, sigo trabajando con mi depresión, labor que seguramente me llevará el resto de la vida, pero ya no cargo sacos de penas. Soy otra vez optimista con mi futuro y sobre todo, he querido aprender la lección. En todo este proceso, ni uno solo de los que se decían mis amigos, me visitó, me llamó o preguntó por mi. A todos los que tantas veces había ayudado en sus propios problemas, se los tragó la tierra. Ni siquiera mis amigos más cercanos. Es como si hubiese muerto para ellos.

Ahora trato de formar relaciones más significativas, sin buscar ‘comprar’ amigos con favores o con cosas. No tengo muchos amigos, pero los que tengo son queridos y me quieren. Además entendí que cuando todo falla, tu familia no te abandona. Ellos están más cerca de mí y yo de ellos. Las prioridades se nos desvían, pero es necesario reubicarlas, revisarlas y resignificarlas.

Si se puede ser feliz.

--

--

Rolo C Vargas
100 Naked Words

Estoy buscando trabajo. se leer y escribir. No se caminar.