Be stronger. Not harder.

Cici Du
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readMar 13, 2017

Great writers are honest.

I think truly eloquent speakers are as well.

There’s something so precious about the honesty the masters of words have that fascinates me.

How can I dig deeper into this life experience? How can I find the right words to describe all that I feel, all that I am, all that I wonder, at this very moment? How can I get others to do the same with me? Be vulnerable, open transparent. Be human.

I don’t know how Brandon Stanton gets people to reveal their deepest selves to him, a stranger. But the popularity of HONY, which really is Humans of the World now, comforts me, because it feels good to know that people are still touching and being touched by all the pains, sorrows, joys and surprises of life.

Are you open? Are you transparent? Are you only willing to be vulnerable when you’ve got alcohol running through your veins? Who and what are you blaming for not holding your heart out like a child?

The true strength of a beautiful human spirit lies in the relentless choice of keeping your heart open, no matter how cold, dark or evil it is out there.

Be stronger. Not harder.

--

--