Before I Knew Better

Gail Boenning
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readNov 26, 2016
my photo, my hand, my chip

I carried a chip.

The person who gave it to me knew she put it in my hand.

We had occasion to see each other frequently over the years I carried it.

Although it seemed to not bother her, it bothered me a lot.

It was sharp and scratchy.

It colored the way I saw the world.

I allowed that chip to hold me back from greater things — from connections and growth.

Eventually lessons came to teach me about that chip.

I did not realize the power it had over me.

Do you know what?

I’ve dropped the chip.

I have embraced the person who gave it to me.

I invite her on walks and for coffee.

I try in subtle ways to teach her a different way to see the world.

To share the lessons I have been gifted.

Why?

She carries chips of her own and that’s why she gave me one.

Unburdening some of the scratch onto another.

Know what?

They can simply be laid down.

Nobody has to carry them.

--

--