Clapping

post: five

James Kenichi
100 Naked Words
2 min readAug 19, 2017

--

There have been a lot of posts lately about the new clapping feature that replaced the ♥ we had all come to love. Some think that it’s a silly change and will make posting on Medium more about a popularity contest than writing. Others think it’s a useful feature that allows readers to let authors know how much they appreciate your story. I just like clicking on it a bunch after I read a really great article and slow clapping (clicking) for one’s I am unimpressed by.

But all of this got me thinking. What if Medium set something up so authors could actually hear the applause their posts are getting when they went in and viewed them. When Benjamin P. Hardy checks on how his articles are doing, he would feel like he had just killed a performance to a packed house at the Radio City Music Hall… But then again, I would feel like I was in an empty theater with just my mother there supporting me…

Never mind, that’s a terrible idea.

This is post five of my daily writing journey on 100 Naked Words. View my previous posts here: one, two, three, four

If you found value in reading this, please consider giving it a clap or two.

You can follow me on Twitter at @iamjameskenichi.

--

--