Climbing a tree.

Lo Fo
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2017
Image credit: Angela Benito

I start a new job tomorrow morning. I’ve been in Tasmania for over a year now and this is the first time I have felt like I’ve really gotten a chance to use my skills in a job that I’m suited to. I’ve applied for several jobs and disappointingly been unsuccessful time and time again. It has been disheartening but when I really think about it, I have applied for jobs that aren’t really suited to me at all.

I’ve been doing customer service for a little while now and feeling like I’m useless and shit at my work because I react so strongly to unpleasant customers and don’t respond in the way that I feel someone who’s good at their job would. I’ve oscillated between telling myself that it’s OK that I’m not suited to this work but also that I’m not trying hard enough; it’s not that hard; why can’t I do it?

Whenever I’ve felt down on myself about not being the perfect customer service employee, I try to convince myself that perhaps I’m judging a fish by it’s ability to climb a tree.

In the past, I am ashamed to think that I may have been someone who thought “if you don’t like customer service; don’t do it”. In reality, it’s just not that simple at all.

--

--

Lo Fo
100 Naked Words

Vulnerability, empathy and connection are the foundations of a functioning society. notesfromstrangers.org