Color me gently!

Soham Dutta
Published in
1 min readMar 14, 2017

--

Holi — the festival of colors has been one of the most eagerly anticipated festivals in India but that has changed with the millennial generation. Many millennials, like me, don’t celebrate Holi the way the previous generations used to. Holi is not celebrated on the same scale as it was in the years gone by.

Millennials are wary of the of the chemicals present in synthetic colors that are used widely today. Some of the harmful chemicals commonly used in colors are metal oxides, lead, petrol, and other substances which are toxic and can cause a variety of health complications.

In recent times the merry-making has also turned into an excuse for the rowdy and rambunctious hordes to use the festival to get intoxicated and misbehave!

Having said that, millennials are quite innovative and we still love traditions. We also love to reinvent and reinvigorate the festival to match our modern sensibilities.

--

--

Soham Dutta
100 Naked Words

Writing frees my thoughts and fuels my creativity! A science enthusiast, my life finds purpose through my guitar, sketches and books 💯