Confused & Seeking Direction

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJan 30, 2017

We cannot fight everything.

Even a good life makes a bad bonfire.

How do you decide what’s important? Where are the lines? What is my price? What am I willing to pay?

Today, I’m just sad. I cannot articulate a position to argue. I cannot state my values in words that will make sense.

But I know they are not reflected in the current direction of America.

I know I am not alone.

What *do* you do?

We could:

Cry
Leave
Resort to violence
Agree
Consider what to do next

I think the latter is my best option at the moment. What I’m really struck with is this — compassion for an unlikely group of strangers. What did it feel like in Germany during the 1930's? Where is my self-righteous reading of history now? Where is my sure confidence that I would do something different? What does sound moral judgment demand at a time like this?

It’s worth considering. We’re a world of platitudes. We ooze self-improvement sayings like they are sweat. We hack up mottos and mantras like we were made for this.

When is the money-where-your-mouth-is moment? What does it look like to be a friend of all? Does that mean oppressor and oppressed? WWJD? What will I do?

Hell, even Judas had an angle…

--

--

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words

Finding words, finding my way…I write songs and some other things too. Whatever it takes to keep myself hopeful.