Cut Me Some Slack

Kim Smyth
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2017

You know, I just have to vent this morning about how snarky sisters-in-law can be sometimes. Not that I don’t love mine, but here’s the deal. She got me to quit smoking and switch to vaping three years ago. It was supposed to be a do-it-together sort of thing. Guess who is still smoking?

Then recently, I even switched from vaping with a little nicotine to none at all. Mind you I have not been sick with any kind of upper respiratory crap in three years (or more). I told her about it last night, being I was so proud of myself and all, and she says to me-well, I should probably see what other ingredients are still in there that could be causing me harm. What??? Who is the one that’s been sick for two weeks with bronchitis? Not this girl! and guess who is still smoking??

I know that vaping is still widely misunderstood and condemned by many places, just like smoking, mainly because people are ignorant of the facts and don’t realize that we are just inhaling water vapor flavored with caramel or whatever and not spewing harmful chemicals like tobacco and nicotine and all the other by-products in cigarettes, pipes and cigars into the air. I still believe I made the wiser choice by switching, I take care of my health in general and don’t need a lecture from someone who can’t even practice what she preaches, so I say…cut me some slack!

--

--

Kim Smyth
100 Naked Words

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.