Day 14: Mittwoch doesn’t conform

NATALIIA TOTKA
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2016

Once upon a time…

There was a girl and a boy

and they had this ridiculous blathering session about German Wednesday not wanting to conform to the whole “days of week” pattern.

In English, we don’t have any troubles, cause every single day of the week ends with “day”

MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY SATURDAY SUNDAY

He pointed out to me that Mittwoch (Wednesday in German) doesn’t make any sense at all.

Montag Dienstag MITTWOCH Donnerstag Freitag Samstag Sonntag (TAG is day in German)

And back then we would rather babble about non-conformist Wednesday in German-speaking countries other than look up the etymology of the word.

So there we have a REBEL!!!

Wednesday is the worst day to say good-bye and leave dubious time in Switzerland behind

Wednesday was one of the most heart-breaking moments in my life.

That non-conformist, stupid, ridiculous, happy-to-kiss-his-lips Wednesday, but miserable-to-leave-him-hell-knows-for-how-long stupid day.

I only made the connection yesterday. We talked about Mittwoch not wanting to be the same as every other day of the week; and it wasn’t, because it was the day we said “good-bye” and I left the country in tears.

In my mind, from now on, Mittwoch is that day, when I left him. From now on it will always have that bitter sweet emanation.

Going away was hard, but now (it has been 2 weeks since I left), I look forward to the sweet rendezvous.

I hope it happens.

And I hope it’s gonna be on Mittwoch.

Cause we can’t possibly conform to a standard relationship description. 😉

Thank you for reading,

xo

N@t

--

--