Dear Medium… about the sidebar here

Linda Caroll
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2017

The sidebar here is the Medium version of chocolates by the cash register.
Wait! There’s a girl-guide cookie conspiracy? Wth?

I use Medium like most people use Facebook.

Which is to say I pop in at odd times when I have a few minutes.
Between clients or calls or whatever.

But, there’s a problem. I’ve been spoiled by read times.

You know those people who click but don’t actually read what they clicked?
(and make our read rate to view rate look abysmal…)

I don’t want to do that just because I didn’t have time to finish. You know?
(It’s like Mom said. Take what you want, but eat what you take.)

Which explains why I don’t click the stuff in the sidebar…

I’ll scroll the feed, or go to the Top Stories page. And I do look at the sidebar, but I don’t click on it. Just in case the stories are longer than the time I have right then. It seems like such a waste of great real estate.

So, could you add read times to the sidebar? Pretty please?

Bet you’d get more clicks there, too. Thanks for considering it!
(Not assuming you’ll read this, but hoping is good…)

If you liked this (or agree) please click the ❤ to pass it along. Thanks!

--

--