Dear Obedient Hands,

Gail Boenning
100 Naked Words

--

Thanks for all you do!

This morning I randomly decided to be mindful of my hands. Sounds a little crazy, but mindfulness is all the rage these days and I find it does wonders for the mind, body and soul. Focusing on all of the great things my hands can do made me appreciative and kept my mind on a positive track. Negative thoughts beware! My hands are awesome!

My hands are pretty obedient and respect my brain signals without delay. They do not talk back.

Today my hands did tasks great and small. They brushed my teeth and combed my hair. They made the coffee. They helped earn a paycheck by taking care of plants. They helped me drive home to work in my own garden. They helped do laundry and cook dinner for the family. Without them, I could not be typing this post on my phone.

I cannot imagine life without these wonders. There are people who have learned to live without them. I have seen a video of a person without arms. The person taught their feet to do jobs their hands would otherwise do. I am glad my feet only have feet jobs right now. Someday, I might have arthritis or other problems to slow down my hands, but today they were awesome! Thank you hands!

It makes me a little concerned that humans keep making machines and robots and computers that take away jobs from my hands. What will hands do then?

I am going to go clean my hands and nails now. They need a little TLC after their busy day.

What did your hands do for you today?

--

--