Death Count

sam sarmiento
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readAug 21, 2016

During the hearing of the Senate committee on public order and dangerous drugs on Thursday, Dela Rosa reported there were 667 killings as a result of legitimate police operations recorded since President Duterte assumed office on June 30.

Another 899 killings were recorded, representing “found dead under investigation” cases or those allegedly perpetrated by vigilantes on members of drug syndicates.

from Philippine Star Aug 20, 2016

One thousand five hundred and sixty six people was killed in the past 51 days, an average of 31 human beings per day since June 30.

I don’t know what to say. I usually try to look at the bright side of things, consider the big picture and all… but I don’t know where that is in this story. One person who’s life, with all the dreams of a better future stuck in his head, all the lives he has destroyed or built up, all the human connections he has made… all of that is gone. One every hour for the past 51 days. His name just another faceless statistic labelled as an ‘evil’ in the world.

I don’t personally know any one who has been killed in this war. or that has died from drugs. I don’t know if an outrage of support or injustice is the correct response. Thankfully, I am detached from this entire scenario. I’m just a viewer and reader of the news of what is happening around me.

But I still wanna cry.

--

--