Do you really listen…

Colette McCarthy
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 14, 2016

I’ve just started an NLP practitioner course. It’s amazing. When I finish I will be a qualified practitioner…I’m not even sure I’ll practise but to be able to is an awesome thing for me.

One of the tutor’s suggestion was to have a day where you focus on listening, to everything. In NLP and coaching the key emphasis is on the power of listening. Ironically we agree with this and normally move straight on to wanting to jump in on every conversation with an experience or opinion we have without even really letting that person finish their sentence. When you take the time to simply listen, you start a journey into more than just words. You see how they are used and what words are chosen, the tone when they are spoken. This could then tell you what moves a person, motivates them, stops them.

--

--

Colette McCarthy
100 Naked Words

Yoga loving runner fueled by coffee…slowly getting the confidence to be more vulnerable with words. Previous stories can be found on www.colettemccarthy.com