“Don’t let the bully get to you.”

Charlotte Im
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readMar 1, 2017

“When you tell yourself you can’t succeed, it’s like putting a bully in your head,” The middle-aged science teacher says solemnly, “When you tell yourself you can’t do it, the bully wins. Kick the bully out, get better friends. Don’t let the bully tell you what you can or cannot do. Don’t let the bully get to you.”

I nod along. The Year 7s around me don’t seem to share the sentiments. They’re waiting for the bell to ring so that they can get to their next class, and closer to lunch.

See, I wish someone would have told me that when I was their age. However, even if someone had really done it, I might have likely acted like the kids around me. Uncaring, dismissive, absorbed about our own lives.

I wish someone would have told me that before the bully had pummeled me down, eaten me alive. I’m digging my way out, but he’s still there, lurking, gloating.

“The world is your oyster,” The science teacher said, “You can do anything in this world, as long as you put your mind to it. Don’t be lazy.”

The bell rings, and the kids dash out. Half of the class hadn’t revised for their science test that they had done in the lesson, had left almost everything blank.

I nod.

--

--

Charlotte Im
100 Naked Words

University student happily writing whatever she wants :)