Family, who needs it

Ruth Goncalves
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readFeb 28, 2017

It’s a funny thing.

You never really know what you’re missing until you get it and lose it again.

The few days my nephews were here, were eye opening to say the least.

I can’t remember last time I felt the unconditional bond of family members.

Even though we hadn’t had any contact for 15 years and they were kids when I saw them last, I could feel their love for me and I, in turn, for them.

We gave each other shit, knowing that it was all in good fun and that’s just the way we showed each other that we cared for each other.

We all had our place with each other and we slotted together perfectly.

It was harmonious and beautiful.

And after I dropped them off at the airport so they could go back home, it hit me like a tonne of bricks.

I loved having them here.

They had turned into amazing and beautiful people and I was going to and already, missed them.

I blubbered like a little girl.

It took me by surprise, the fact that it affected me that much.

But it did and I am grateful for it.

I love my family and I miss them.

I can’t wait to be with them again.

I’ve never said that before.

How sad is that?

I’m over the moon I get to say it now.

--

--

Ruth Goncalves
100 Naked Words

Personal trainer that struggles with life just as much as the next person, trying to figure it all out. Hit me up http://mindovermatterhealth.com/