Creating Memories

Gabrielle Hermann
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJan 2, 2017

I’ve forgotten to write the past week.
Too busy creating memories with my family in Boston.
My home town. A place I feel immensely at ease. Why should I have to write about that?

Because
Memory is like a sieve
Writing creates bigger pores on the sieve.
I know this trip will be forgotten at some point. Unless I write about it.

Writing consecrates to memory the insignificant details that would otherwise be sifted away.
Like that we stayed in the apartment of a family from Idaho. Who have nothing but plastic dinnerware and no cutting board. And whose ceiling groans when the neighbour above takes a step.

But will I forget how good it feels to be home? Do I have to write about that too to remember?

--

--

Gabrielle Hermann
100 Naked Words

Car-free mom of three. Expat in Germany. Urban planner and environmentalist. Playing with writing as tool for change and liberation.