Fray

Violet
100 Naked Words

--

I cling to your threads like they’re a lifeline to the darkness of my heart. All your stories, your passions, your hopes, your fears. They are shared, snippets here and there, and together they are woven into a picture of you.

I drown in the pictures of you I weave, because they are never enough to satisfy the craving crawling underneath my skin. There’s a voice silently screaming for fulfillment, for understanding, for shared resonance.

Though even so, I fly with the strength I draw from you, woven flax emerging from a loom. Echoes of experiences and heartfelt confidences become ribbons to swing from, one to the next.

I soar alone through the night, dark and glassy, filled with emptiness and eerie light. And the threads buckle under the weight of my heart, fraying and snapping, one by one by one.

And I fall.

--

--