Glasses shattering stuff

Shirley Lee
100 Naked Words
Published in
3 min readOct 22, 2017

--

Digitally drawn by my friend. Facebook page

I am thinking about what I should do with my life. My thoughts and actions contradict.

The bucket list approach is the only way I understand: I put items I want to do and try before I die on the list. I check off items after I tried them; I add on items when I want to try something new. By focusing on the goals, I tried my best to skip unnecessary and boring steps.

I know I shouldn’t think about how the others judge me. That’s what brings me to the conclusion of needing a bucket list, instead of listening to countless “rational” suggestions for a “better” career and a higher monthly salary. Many people spend time chasing the means (money and prestige) instead of being true to themselves.

Yet my school principal’s last comment on my student life kept lingering in my head.

“Shirley’s public exam results, well, fell short of my expectations. I dropped my glasses,” he said to my mum’s friend four years ago.

“Dropping one’s glasses” is a Cantonese idiom meaning “feeling dumbstruck”, most likely towards a piece of news. A person whom I deeply respect expected highly of me, and was dumbstruck by how low my grades were.

He probably didn’t know that I would know when he said that. And didn’t know that I would keep a random comment in my head for 4 years.

--

--