Having drunk the Koolaid….

Michael Belanger
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readAug 31, 2016

where do I begin? There was a time when the idea of giving 120% held currency in my mind. A time when teamwork, performance reviews, and climbing ladders were meaningful terms in my life and I would (and did) sacrifice things I loved dearly to the gods of corporatism (small ‘g’ is purposeful). Just ask my second wife.

It was something she wrote in a poem to me, left haphazardly in a book in our matrimonial home that I picked up when I was packing to leave, that made me think twice, and then thrice and so on until I could not stop thinking about it. It was an act of both love and shaming that she pulled on me that thereafter made it so much easier to remain completely in love with her…even in the twenty long years we have been apart.

Any job, or any company, or any coworkers, or any boss will never be able to offer to me the wisdom she offered me then out of love, as we parted, and went our seperate ways.

--

--

Michael Belanger
100 Naked Words

If you can think it you can write it down…but it might not be good!