1) How Expressing Gratitude For My Struggles Keeps Me Present.

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readOct 2, 2017

Gratitude. Appreciation for what I have experienced that helps me grow. Several years ago I began writing a gratitude list about once a week.

It began with my home, my family, my job, all things I count as blessings. Over time I began to include painful experiences, disappointing moments, and rude awakenings.

I found expressing gratitude for my struggles helps me grow. In fact, leaning into a headache or opening myself up to feel emotional pain instead of stuffing it centers and grounds me like nothing else.

This keeps me in the present where life is a gift. One heartbeat at a time.

Someone once said: Yesterday is history, tomorrow’s a mystery, and today is a gift called the present.

--

--

Paul S Markle
100 Naked Words

Wordsmith Apprentice studying under this collective community genius. Writer of fiction, poetry, etc. Former head shrinker, current equine coach…