I was skeptical to call myself a FEMINIST

And now Medium has made me a top writer in Feminism

Shruti Sharma
100 Naked Words
1 min readJun 7, 2017

--

When I wrote my first author bio for my blog, I introduced myself with these words-

A curious reader. Untypical wanderer. And a confusingly happy soul. I derive pleasure from smallest of things. Overly attached to nature. Rains pacify me. Trees mow down my anger, mountains bring me peace, and waterfalls bring my sunshine back. I want to walk on the moon and still be on earth. I want to travel the world and come back home to family. Plain Thug! That’s what I am :)

Somewhere in the middle, I also wrote- “hardcore feminist”

One of my friend asked me- Really? Are you a feminist?

And then I deleted it. I thought may be they will perceive it as ‘gender-bias’. They already think that women can never be equal to men. To them feminism can stoop to levels as small as- asking for a ladies seat in metro.

I did not want to get into the chromosome-fight.

Ironically, now after I wrote about some women topics, Medium has given me the title of “Top writer”.

The one I can not delete.

This post is a part of challenge that I took. I will be writing 100 words everyday for 100 days. Day thirty seven is here. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Shruti Sharma
100 Naked Words

Storyteller @Quovantis, BookFairy @booksontheMetro. Merry Giggler. Reader and Writer. I share my experiences and experiments on Instagram @shrutibookfairysharma