I’m Not Normal and Neither Are You

Troy James
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readOct 2, 2016

‘Normal’ is not a term I identify with when it comes to defining people. In proper context, statements like “S/he seems normal” or “Why can’t s/he be normal” are commonly thrown about on a daily basis, sometimes by you or sometimes by others. Even worse is the self-loathing “why can’t I be normal’.

Worse yet, I know most of us have been guilty of these thoughts on occassion, if not still actively applying them. It’s human nature to compare our lives to other lives, and this is where we get off the tracks with normalcy. I’m here to remind all of us (including me) that normal is relative. To go even further, one person’s ‘normal’ can be another person’s thief, philatropist, sinner, saint, and on and on.

We’re all unconventional. A bit off. And maybe a little weird.

Go on and celebrate yourselves, weirdos.

--

--

Troy James
100 Naked Words

Entrepreneur, persistent thinker, expert bottler of emotions, and calculated risk-taker. I love life, but it’s not in my comfort zone to talk about why.