It’s too early to be awake

Dan O W
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readMar 11, 2017
Sleep overs are too much fun to sleep!

I jolt with a start and quickly absorb my surroundings.

I’m on my left side, eyes closed, legs curled up, comfortably snuggled in the bed clothes.

Without moving, my ears tune in to what woke me up.

In the state between consciousness and unconsciousness, I remember my child had a friend for a sleep over. Oh yes, fabulous, they’ll be up early because it’s fun! They don’t know that mum worked until after midnight, so to be woken up at a time that starts with 5 isn’t going to be pretty.

I chuckle and remember being a kid and the excitement of waking up to a friend in your bedroom — the giggling, playing, jumping into the same bed to compare dreams.

So I creep in and ask them if they can sleep for just 1 more hour, then they can play.

They look at me with big eyes, nodding sagely, saying “OK”.

As I leave the room, I know there is no chance that will happen so I head straight for the shower…..

--

--

Dan O W
100 Naked Words

Mother, adventurer, business woman, writer (maybe?), is there a limit to what we can be?!?!