It’s up to you to create your own adventures

Kayden Hines
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2017

When we’re working, it’s far too easy to slip into apathy and inertia. To let work and vacation days dictate your life and actions; to make excuses for why now is “not a good time.”

Whenever I feel stuck, or bored, or boring, I remind myself that I need to be deliberate about making my life into what I want it to be. Fun and lightheartedness don’t have to fade or recede into the background just because we’re working hard. We can create reasons to celebrate, and bring everyone together, even if it’s for no reason at all.

It’s the reason I fly back whenever I can to the East Coast from California to visit my friends and family. It’s why I’ll travel around the world for weddings and bachelorette parties. It’s why my husband and I plan fun weekend excursions together. It’s why I’ll always fly home for Thanksgiving and take every opportunity to be with my family. It’s why I’ll do something completely ridiculous and fly to Vegas for one night to see an Elton John concert.

It’s up to us to make our lives special. It’s up to us to create our own adventures.

It’s up to us to be deliberate about how we live our lives.

Post 13/100 of my 100 day writing challenge for 100 Naked Words.

--

--

Kayden Hines
100 Naked Words

Chief Executive Overanalyzer ~ Silicon Valley ~ Tech / Media ~ Humor Enthusiast ~ Stanford GSB Grad