I’ve Been Hacked!

Kim Smyth
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2020
neONBRAND for Unsplash

Well, it has happened again, that shock and dismay upon checking one’s bank account and seeing unauthorized charges on the statement. Today was for going and getting a new debit card and then making sure I started the process and paperwork to get refunded what the thieves took from me. Such an invasion of privacy! One minute, you are enjoying lunch with your family, the next, you’re dealing with a breach of privacy. Someone from the restaurant stole my credit card number and went out and had a meal of their own and more…on me! :(

In addition, I had to change my phone’s private access code because I saw someone trying to figure it out remotely in the middle of the night! Good thing I was awake and needed to jot down a poem (lest I forget it) and saw the attempted fraud happening right in front of my eyes! Somehow, someone was trying different numbers one after another, trying to crack my access code. It has now been changed. What else do I need to change? I know, I know, lots of you change all your codes and passwords on a regular basis, but I don’t. I guess I’ll have to get in the habit now. Some people just suck.

--

--

Kim Smyth
100 Naked Words

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.