Leaving the City

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJan 28, 2017

I want to leave the city.

Not the real city. I left that already.

I mean the virtual city. The noise and rackets of the humming masses. Where Likes collide and opinions smash like cars in crowded intersections.

Where are the quiet places? The opportunities for cooperation, collaboration, connection? What happened to all these people working together?

Maybe it me. It’s some solitude I’m seeking. Some single-minded slavishness to an idea of silence.

Even in relationship there is rest. The light changes outside my window. Nature reflects the march of the day in an ever-shifting scene. And so I need change and rest.

I’m leaving the virtual city. I’ll smooth my fenders and wash the windshield. Clean the grime from my grill. Perhaps I’ll return, or maybe I’ll discover that the changing light is enough.

--

--

Grant Andrew
100 Naked Words

Finding words, finding my way…I write songs and some other things too. Whatever it takes to keep myself hopeful.