life of norman

Kaung Shein
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readMar 4, 2020
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Despite being one of the most visited websites, Reddit is not for everyone. I have a lot of issues with that platform, from the users to the company itself. That being said, it does have pockets of gold nuggets, and this, my friends, is one: r/lifeofnorman.

The premise of that subreddit is very simple — it’s about a very ordinary, average guy named Norman. People write about very average things that a very average Norman does. It’s cute, it’s wholesome, and it’s a quaint little community. The subreddit tags itself as “a collective story about a remarkably unimportant individual.”

But it is sad. Though peaceful and can be wholesome, it’s dark to see a life so unremarkable. The problem is that I see myself as Norman a lot. I don’t go on adventures. I get anxious about how I present myself to the world. I play by the books. I am depressed and lonely. The worst of it all, I don’t even have the positive attitude Norman brings to his day to day life. Hopefully I don’t end up like Norman, but if I do, the positivity he brings to his life is all I can wish for.

--

--

Kaung Shein
100 Naked Words

One of my best friends said, “Life sucks and then you die.” We are all out here just trying to figure out how to die at a later time and make life suck less.