100 Naked Words — Day 63

Make a Habit out of Making a Habit

Reflections, Ripples and Ramblings of a Restless Mind

Aarish Shah
100 Naked Words

--

Photo Credit — Me! Lido di Camaiore, Tuscany

Habit is a strange thing.

It wakes some up in the morning, gets them to work every day. Let’s them do the same job hour after hour, week after week. It ensures that their meals are always just so, and their interactions predictable.

Habit in this context is mundane and to me, mind numbing. Routine is anathema, unexciting and noxious to creativity. I abhor it. It bores me to my core.

But, when I look at some of the most wonderful things in my life, they were created through habit. Built by habit. Needed habit to grow.

I read every chance I get, habit I created when I was young.

For the last few years I exercised almost every day. Knowing that if I broke this habit, I’d stop altogether. And that’s exactly what happened. Now I know I must build the habit anew.

I write every day, on paper and on the screen. I have created this habit out of necessity. A need to express myself in a way that I feel natural, that feels fluid.

And in developing this habit, I have been able to explore so much more of the voice inside me, in so many different ways that the routine is anything but routine. Every time I write, another petal unfolds, another layer is exposed.

Habit has been elevated out of monotony for me. Habit starts with small steps but leads to tremendous leaps.

Time, methinks, to start making a habit, out of making a habit.

About me: Citizen of the World. I love writing, photography, travelling, reading, learning and growing. Medium is another journey in my life, let’s see what sights we may see. Sign up below for my tips, tricks and reflections on startups, SMEs and scaleups everywhere.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Day 9 | Day 10 | Day 11 | Day 12 | Day 13 | Day 14 | Day 15 | Day 16 | Day 17 | Day 18 | Day 19 | Day 20 | Day 21 | Day 22 | Day 23 | Day 24 | Day 25 | Day 26 | Day 27 | Day 28 | Day 29 | Day 30 | Day 31 | Day 32 | Day 33 | Day 34 | Day 35 | Day 36 | Day 37 | Day 38 | Day 39 | Day 40 | Day 41 | Day 42 | Day 43 | Day 44 | Day 45 | Day 46 | Day 47 | Day 48 | Day 49 | Day 50 | Day 51 | Day 52 | Day 53 | Day 54 | Day 55 | Day 56 | Day 57 | Day 58 | Day 59 | Day 60 | Day 61 | Day 62

Don’t forget to support my work by hitting that little green heart!

--

--

Aarish Shah
100 Naked Words

Generalist | Thinker | Life Long Learner | Writer | Photographer