Multi-tasking 2.0

Dan O W
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2017
Pic courtesy of https://pixabay.com/en/clerk-business-business-woman-busy-18915/

“There are never enough hours in the day” she whines……

Our modern world affords us so much, yet we whinge we don’t have the time to enjoy it.

Yes that “she” above was me!

When I’m feeling hemmed in/overwhelmed/into overdrive, my brain splits into multiple me’s trying to do several things at the same time. The official word for that is multitasking.

I used to love multitasking. I was the QUEEN of multi-tasking. I got a huge amount done in a short amount of time. But I started to realise two things:

1. I was completely exhausted ALL the time

2. I started to forget what I’d done

Now the second one concerned me much more than the first. E.g. I’d be on an important phone call whilst folding the washing. Great in theory. But then I’d go to fold the washing later in the night and it was gone. Was there a crazy washing thief on the loose in my neighbourhood? After several minutes searching, thinking and retracing my steps I’d finally find something put neatly away in my drawers and realised I’d done it. I was the crazy washing thief!

God knows what else I was forgetting, so I decided to be present, focus and stop the multitasking.

But today I find myself in THAT predicament. I have a deadline, but also a hair appointment!

So, here I am……sitting in a very cool salon, music blearing, drink in hand, working away! I use my lessons — I am present for the hairdresser (I make sure I don’t get pink hair), then I put my head down and I write. They say “go girl” and leave me be. I call it multi-tasking 2.0.

Let’s just hope I remember where I parked my car…..

--

--

Dan O W
100 Naked Words

Mother, adventurer, business woman, writer (maybe?), is there a limit to what we can be?!?!