Colette McCarthy
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 11, 2016

--

Without uncertainty and the unknown, life is just the stale repetition of outworn memories. You become the victim of the past, and your tormentor today is your self left over from yesterday.

My life become extremely focused on work last year, it’s not what I was used nor who I wanted to be. When the contracted ended I was going travelling for four months with my partner. This seemed to excuse the fact I wasn’t giving myself what I wanted at the time, I had four months of me time coming up, I could afford to give my energies to what I thought was something bigger…I have decided to never sacrifice me again.

The contract ended, my partner handed in his notice and we set off. I had moments of doubt before we left, whether we were doing the right thing, being sensible. It was the best decision I ever made. Whilst away we made a pact to live a life we wanted, no more 9–5, commuting for work, hours of whiling away time in an office.

We’ve come back, secured working from home jobs with charities and are living in a beautiful house close to London but removed enough to wallow in peace and nature. We have created the life we love…and yet I still battle with stereotypes and supposed societal norms, should a 38 year old woman be living her life this way.

So begins another tale of over coming challenges and how following your heart can bring you only happiness.

--

--

Colette McCarthy
100 Naked Words

Yoga loving runner fueled by coffee…slowly getting the confidence to be more vulnerable with words. Previous stories can be found on www.colettemccarthy.com