https://www.tes.com/lessons/frW9YPpnbB4IUg/nature

Nature

Violet
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readDec 27, 2016

--

Today is a day of rest.

I sit on grass, green despite the blazing heat of summer. I am shaded by gum trees, growing majestically, providing homes for parrots, cockatoos and kookaburras, among many more I don’t have names for. I’ve never been much of an ornithologist, preferring birds to stay at a distance.

I’ve set this day aside for reading, writing, and resting. My phone is still on but muted, as I read using the Kindle app for the most part. I’m comfy, so I write.

falling
slowly through the mist
into a tree-lined abyss
under the shadows of the castles in my mind

swimming
through the clear and distant past
rushing waters fill my soul
cool torrential rain crashes over the cracks in my breaking heart

trailing
softly under newborn clouds
twirling quickly around my head
the mountains of my feelings seem insurmountable today

I create, and I process, all that has come before. I hope, and I plan for the forthcoming year, optimism tempered with my experiences to date. This hope is cautious, carefully peeking its head out from underneath a rock after seeing a sunbeam at long last. We’ll see how it lasts.

--

--