No Soliciting.

Alicia Mejia
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJul 21, 2016

I met her a few days before he moved out. We clicked immediately. The way you do with those rare few. When I was little I would search for stones along the lakeshore. On a lucky day I would find an agate. Striated. Colorful. Full of ancient stories. She was like that, if agates had clear blue eyes and hair the color of a desert sunset. Only I wasn’t searching for her, she just walked into my office one unexpected day. And stayed. Feet kicked up on the desk we would chat for hours on things that were important to us. Saying more in an afternoon of silence and understanding than in a thousand hollow conversations I never wished to have again. When the call came in, I was at a loss for words. Head down, shoulders heaving. Sobbing. A Molotov cocktail of sadness and pain. Heartbreak and shock. Disbelief and finality.

I don’t know how to help you right now, she said. Tell me how to help you and I will.

Please just stay. Stay, and tell me an ancient story.

--

--

Alicia Mejia
100 Naked Words

Life's mission: Raise the vibration of love on the planet, one day at a time: bit.ly/365DaysofLove 🌎🌍🌏❤️📖.