Puddles

Gail Boenning
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readApr 4, 2017
author’s photo

Oh my, is it wet! In Wisconsin, we’ve experienced melt, thaw and now, days upon days of rain. You know what that means, right? Puddles! Puddles are everywhere.

Some of the trails I walk, have become home to mini-ponds in the most inconvenient places — smack dab in the middle of the trail. What has happened as a result, is that like-minded walkers and I have created a new trail that skirts the muddy pools. You can now see a trampled detour around the obstructions. We’re sensible and do not want to get our feet wet or dirty.

In comparison, I can recall walking with little people (a.k.a. children), who would love nothing more than to go directly through the puddle. If only I had a quarter for each time I said, “Go around! Don’t get you feet wet.”

With twenty-five kindergarteners trailing behind me, a minimum of one always went through the puddle. In the mind of a five year old, puddles are something to be explored and celebrated. The little feet really cannot help themselves. Reason stands no chance against the spirt of adventure.

Today, I find myself wondering if I need to pick up a pair of rubber rain boots. Maybe it’s time to stop being so sensible.

How much room for growth is there if I start embracing, rather than avoiding the puddles?

--

--