Referee? Then again, maybe not

B. Ahimbisibwe
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readJan 2, 2017

I really should go out and help but for now I’m in my bed pretending to be asleep but really trying, unsuccessfully, to decipher the noises in the background. There seems to be a fight going on but I’m not quite sure.

A sad, frustrated cry makes me pull the plug. I begin to get up to go to help “my” baby. Then I hear, “Oh no. Please don’t do that,” from the father over the baby babble and it causes me to smile. Who negotiates with a baby and even adds please? I hesitate, waiting to hear how this will play out, confused about who needs the help more.

There’s some giggling from both. Then a frustrated, “Nah, nah No!”

Then an equally frustrated whine.

They’re both good.

I pull up the covers and smile to myself. My energies will probably be better spent taking a nap.

--

--