Solitudes

Rolo C Vargas
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2020
Photo by Matthew Henry

I love being alone. It allows me to take advantage to undertake struggles with myself and to materialize ideas that are going around in my mind.

I also enjoy being distracted in solitude, watching a good movie or reading a book that transports me to other people’s lives that for a few hours are my own life.

But there are solitudes that are too heavy to load on my shoulders.

Like the one I suffered today, when I left the office to walk to the nearby square and sat down with hundreds more people who were there. I didn’t want to be alone today.

But while people talked or checked their phones, or walked hurriedly across the square to reach their urgent commitments, I felt that loneliness that hurts so much, that loneliness so dark and deep, the loneliness that generates being just one point in the crowd.

You feel that the heart is squeezed and costs to bring air into your lungs. People come and go, all in their affairs, without even realizing I’m there. That loneliness, I definitely don’t like it.

Soledades

Me encanta estar solo. Me permite aprovechar para emprender luchas conmigo mismo y materializar ideas que están dando vueltas en mi mente.

También disfruto distraerme en soledad, viendo una buena película o leyendo un libro que me transporta a vidas ajenas que por unas horas son mi propia vida.

Pero hay soledades que son demasiado pesadas para cargarlas en mis hombros.

Como la que sufrí hoy, cuando salí de la oficina a caminar a la plaza cercana y me senté con cientos de personas más que estaban ahí. Hoy no quería estar solo.

Pero mientras la gente conversaba o revisaba sus teléfonos, o caminaba presurosa atravesando la plaza para llegar a sus compromisos urgentes, sentí esa soledad que tanto me duele, esa soledad tan oscura y profunda, la soledad que genera ser solo un punto en la multitud.

Sientes que el corazón se estruja y que cuesta traer aire a tus pulmones. La gente viene y va, todos en sus asuntos, sin siquiera percatarse de que estoy ahí. Esa soledad, definitivamente no me gusta.

--

--

Rolo C Vargas
100 Naked Words

Estoy buscando trabajo. se leer y escribir. No se caminar.