The abuse of question marks — #67

They are for questions only. I cannot understand some people’s use of this punctuation.

Jon Jackson
100 Naked Words
2 min readDec 15, 2016

--

Every email has to have multiple question marks, even if there is no question. Do they speak like this in everyday life, with an upward inflection at the end of each sentence? No. See what I did there? I used a question mark correctly. I asked a question, therefore it was appropriate.

I am now used to seeing variations of the following false questions cluttering up my mailbox.

  • I just saw your email?
  • I don’t think this is right?
  • Yes I think so?
  • I think I already sent that to you?
  • Check what I sent you?

The list could go on. All I want to do is scream at the sender and shout: WHY ALL THE QUESTION MARKS?

Are you asking a question? Are you confused? Is the full-stop key on your keyboard broken? Why do you do it?

I’ll tell you why you do it. Sloppiness. A lack of clarity within your mind. You leave the question marks peppering your emails because it transfers responsibility to the recipient. A question mark must have a response. Perhaps you were taught to do this on some stupid management course on how to be an inefficient manager and to spread ambiguity.

Here’s some advice: write what you mean. Use the English language properly. If you are asking a question, use a question mark. If you’re not, don’t!

--

--

Jon Jackson
100 Naked Words

Husband and father, writing about life and tech while trying not to come across too Kafkaesque. Enjoys word-fiddling and sentence-retrenchment