Through my lens

Kimberley Chung
100 Naked Words
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2017

I was visibly annoyed by the fact that I didn’t have my camera with me when I came across a scenery in which everything just fit together perfectly. The afternoon sun casts a shadow on the right spots while others were lined by elegant silhouettes. At times like this I just try to capture it in my mind, hoping it will somehow stay with me, carefully stored away in the treasure chest I call my memories.

At other times, I’m lucky to have my camera dangling around my neck, ready for any moment.

Any moment I think is worth capturing.

Any moment I can pick up in the form of a physical photograph whenever I crave the same feeling I got when I first saw it with my own eyes.

Through my lens, I suddenly become more mindful about the environment within the square of my camera, including the tiny details that paint a perfect picture. I can create an atmosphere just by clicking at the right moment; not a second after or before, just in time. Through my lens, I try to capture the natural setting. I keep it untouched in which everything is just the way it is; I leave the bench littered with Autumn leaves instead of sweeping it, I leave the only wilted flower on the rose tree instead of plucking it and I leave the people talking to each other instead of letting them pose. I leave everything untouched and try to capture it as closest as how we view it in reality.

Through my lens, I show you how I view the world without sugarcoating it.

When I look at something, I often have a feeling that there is more than meets the eye. The things for which we decide to open our eyes say a lot about the things we think are important to capture.

Therefore the photographs I have made are all the things and people I find important in my life, because it’s worth to forever capture them, not only in my mind, but also;

Through my lens

--

--

Kimberley Chung
100 Naked Words

Rambling through life. All about self development & positivity.