Time Out

John Siwicki
100 Naked Words
Published in
1 min readSep 16, 2017

--

Have you ever had one of those mornings where you turn off the alarm before it goes off and just falls back to sleep anyway? Then you just tell yourself you overslept. It is pitch black in my room this morning. I have my phone face down and there is something that is blocking my alarm clock. I can’t quite tell what time it is. I know I should get up. But, I just don’t have the energy to so yet.

I get a push notification from my todo app every day at 6 am and I see 7 overdue. I try to do all the things right. I keep a healthy list and set my alarm across the room.

But, it is still hard to wake up most days.

Today, I wanted to change my formula and my routine a little bit. Sometimes, in the pinnacle of a stressful time and uncertainty, it can be fun to mix it up.

I locked myself in a room. I turned off all of my notifications and I started to write. I wanted to ignore all of the advice for a second and just keep writing. I like doing this and sometimes all of the advice and all of the help you can get. It can give you a reason to stop doing the things that you love. I might not have a giant niche and a perfect group that I could sell to and collect emails. But, I love this.

--

--

John Siwicki
100 Naked Words

Writing about technology, development and some random ideas